Southern Scramble

I hope everyone enjoyed their Valentine’s Day and was able to spend the day with their loved ones! Unfortunately, I was stuck working all day and my honey-bunny was working all evening.. Thankfully I treat everyday like Valentine’s Day and I don’t need a day with a special label to show people how much I love and appreciate them. Each day I reflect on how blessed I am to have such loving and supportive friends and family in my life. Although I can be rather introverted at times, I don’t know where I’d be without my supportive network. We are social beings who require interactions, companionship, and love. No matter what! The past few weeks I focused on sharing sweet treats for Valentine’s Day. Now that it’s over, I’m going to try and focus on savoury dishes for a while! For as long as I can 😉


DSC_2278e


Yield: 5 servings


Ingredients 

  • 1 block of firm tofu (make sure it’s organic and non-GMO)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 c mushrooms, diced
  • 1 c green pepper, diced
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp pink sea salt
  • 2/3 c salsa (I used mild but feel free to use what you want)
  • pepper to taste

DSC_2278e2


  1. Using your hands, crumble the tofu into a large mixing bowl. Stir in salsa. Set aside
  2. In a skillet or large pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic, onions, mushrooms, and green pepper. Sauté for approximately 5 minutes, or until the veggies are soft
  3. Stir in chili powder, cumin, and sea salt
  4. Add the tofu and salsa mixture to the skillet/pan. Mix everything together. Reduce heat to low-medium and cook the tofu for another 5-10 minutes or so
  5. Serve with gluten-free toast, avocado, and pepper

Enjoy! 

One thought on “Southern Scramble

Leave a Reply

