Gingerbread Cranberry Muffins

Today my mom and I went to my future school’s open house (The Institute of Holistic Nutrition). I am so excited to start that chapter of my life and pursue my passion for holistic living! It was cool because they were running sample lectures of classes that are offered at the school. We attended a lecture on “Fatty Liver” which was super interesting. I must say that I can be guilty of forgetting about the importance of my liver and the effects my diet choices have on it. I also realized that the skin and gut issues that I’m currently experiencing could be associated with my liver, and inflammation or food sensitivities.. Don’t forget about your liver and its importance! Here is a list of foods that support your liver: water, beets, garlic, onions, cruciferous vegetables (broccoli, cabbage, brussels sprouts, cauliflower), dark leafy greens, artichokes, coconut oil, coriander, turmeric. A healthy liver plays a key role in more than 500 metabolic processes that are crucial for our health!

DSC_1371e

DSC_1427


Yield: 12 muffins


DSC_1389


Ingredients

  • 1 c fresh cranberries
  • 2 1/4 c brown rice flour
  • 1/4 c coconut sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 c coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 c molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1 c almond milk
  • 1 carrot, shredded

DSC_1441


  1. Preheat oven at 350
  2. Grease a muffin tray with coconut oil
  3. In a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, xanthan gum, and nutmeg
  4. In a small bowl combine coconut oil, molasses, vanilla, applesauce, and almond milk. Mix well
  5. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Mix together
  6. Stir in the grated carrot and cranberries
  7. Fill the muffin tray with the batter, 2/3 full
  8. Bake for approximately 22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean

Tip: The topping on the muffins is just pureed cranberries!

Enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cranberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

