Kelp Noodle Salad with Peanut Sauce

Today I had the pleasure of spreading vegan love, it was awesome! I was invited to be a guest speaker in my brother’s grade 10 civics and careers class, where they’ve each had to bring in someone who has experienced success in some way. Although I don’t have career success at the moment, I sure do know a thing or two about accomplishing the least expected and at one time the seemingly impossible; going vegan and writing a recipe blog! I was so honoured to share my story and my perspective of success, which is to set goals and work towards them, no matter how unrealistic they may seem in that moment. Having the opportunity to share my blog and talk about my vegan lifestyle with young people is amazing. I’ll take any chance I get to spread my knowledge, passion, and influential light on a young person’s life. This was my well deserved lunch after all of the presentations I’ve had to do this week. Have you tried kelp noodles?? They’re AMAZING! They’re raw, nice and light, they take on whatever flavours you’re cooking with, and they’re perfect for throwing in salads. Try them (available at your local health food store)!!

IMG_7703

IMG_7696

Ingredients (As much as you’d like for your salad)

  • kelp noodles
  • romaine lettuce, chopped
  • red pepper, thinly sliced
  • carrot, washed and peeled
  • brocoli, chopped
  • cilantro
  • cashews

Peanut Sauce (Yield: 2-3 servings)

  • 1 tomato, halved
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 c natural peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp tamari
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp cilantro, finely chopped

*Note: This sauce is super mild due to my low spice tolerance. Feel free to throw in some chili pepper or other spices!

IMG_7706

  1. In a food processor, combine the tomato and garlic. Puree until liquid
  2. In a small pot at medium heat; add the peanut butter, olive oil, tamari, sesame oil, lime juice, cilantro, and tomato puree. Whisk continuously until smooth and heated
  3. Toss all of your salad ingredients with the peanut sauce

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Kelp Noodle Salad with Peanut Sauce

  1. How fun that you got an opportunity to talk in your brother’s class! I love that you are spreading the vegan love! And I have never tried kelp noodles before! This dish looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

