Overnight Apple Pie Oats

Happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Canadians! Unfortunately the majority of the weekend I was stuck studying for midterms and writing a paper ūüė¶ I’d much rather be stuck in the kitchen all weekend whipping up fabulous dishes but that wasn’t the case this year… Fortunately I have a loving momma who had me covered with plenty of vegan options for dinner. Each day I am so thankful for my family, my friends, and my boyfriend. I might not have lots of money, or a fancy car, or have had the opportunity to travel the globe, but God has provided me with everything I need. I have a ¬†roof over my head, my health and safety, I have an abundance of nutritious food and clean water, connections with ike-minded people, and a kind and loving soul for all living things. Too easily we get caught up in what we don’t have. Why not be happy with what you do have. ¬†It might not be a Thanksgiving holiday for you, but you can still take the opportunity to reflect on your life and recognize what you’re thankful for. Is there anything you take for granted?

Vegan/Gluten-free/Soy free

DSC_0907

Ingredients 

  • 1/2 c gluten free oats
  • 1/2 apple, grated
  • 3 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp flax meal
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 c almond milk

Raw Caramel Sauce

  • 12 dates
  • 5 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

DSC_0895

*Makes 2 servings 

  1. For the oatmeal: Stir the ingredients together in a jar or bowl
  2. Refrigerate overnight
  3. Top with chopped fruit, nuts, and raw caramel sauce!
  4. For the caramel sauce: Combine all ingredients in a food processor until smooth

DSC_0943

Enjoy! 

One thought on “Overnight Apple Pie Oats

Leave a Reply

