Pumpkin Spice Muffins (GF)

Here is my kick off recipe to the pumpkin season. It’s not even October yet and I feel like I’ve been having pumpkin left, right and centre! In case you’re looking at my muffins and thinking “Those don’t look like the light and fluffy muffins I’m used to seeing…” my answer is no, they’re not. That’s because some vegan/gluten-free bakers use xanthan gum which contributes to their fluffiness. What is xanthan gum you ask? Good question. That’s why I have yet to use it in my baking. If I don’t know what it is or can’t tell based on it’s name, I probably won’t use it. Not until I investigate further! Here is a definition I found: Xanthan gum is a sugar-like compound made by mixing fermented sugars with a certain type of bacteria. It is used as a thickening and stabilizing agent in food (http://www.webmd.com/). In gluten-free baking it plays the role of imitating gluten. I’m not completely opposed to it, I just try to make your (and my) life easier by reducing the amount of ingredients you need to buy! If anyone out there uses xanthan gum in their baking I would love to hear how it is! *Note: These are pretty dense. Combine with some fruit and a salad and there’s your lunch! IMG_1470 Yield: 12 muffins Ingredients 

  • 2 c rice flour
  • 3/4 c organic cane sugar
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1 c pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 c + 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1/3 c coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tbsp molasses
  • 1/4 c dried cranberries
  • 1/4 c pumpkin seeds

IMG_1490

  1. Preheat oven at 375, grease your muffin tray
  2. Combine flour, sugar, flax meal, and spices in a large bowl. Stir
  3. In a separate bowl combine the pumpkin puree, almond milk, coconut oil,  and molasses. Stir
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the large bowl of dry ingredients. Mix well
  5. Stir in the cranberries and pumpkin seeds
  6. Bake for approximately 27 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes out clean

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Muffins (GF)

Leave a Reply

