Falafel Salad with Tangy Tahini Dressing (V) (GF)

This week I have been focusing on compassion. I read an awesome bible verse that made me reflect on my thoughts and actions as well as those of others. It said “When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them, because they were like sheep without a Shepherd. So he began teaching them many things (Mark 6:34). There are times, especially as a vegan where I do judge others. I don’t understand people’s minds and reasoning for things. Most importantly I cannot stand people’s greed, closed-mindedness, and cruelty. I try my best to remain open-minded and to see things from someone else’s perspective. I am fairly good at recognizing one’s logic even though I don’t agree with it without making them feel bad or judged. I am not here to pressure or to convert people (although I’m not complaining if I do), rather provide you with the knowledge and skills that may guide you towards a vegan lifestyle. Yes, there are many health benefits of eating a plant based diet but even greater than that are the benefits of a compassionate, kind, a cruelty-free lifestyle. Those should be expressed in every dimension of your life, towards animals, people, the environment, and your body, There’s nothing in this life that sounds better than that!

Image

Ingredients 

  • 2 c greens of choice (I used spinach and kale)
  • falafel balls (my mom had a pack to be used up so I did not make them from scratch. Feel free to though!)
  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 3 beets (I used golden and pink beets)
  • one pack of cherry tomatoes, washed and halved
  • olive oil
  • sea salt
  • pepper

Image

  1. To bake the cabbage: Preheat oven at 375F. Remove the outer leaf of the cabbage. Cut the cabbage into one inch thick slices from top to bottom (disk shape). Brush each side with a little bit of olive oil, sea salt, and pepper. Place sliced cabbage on a baking sheet. Roast for 25 minutes and then flip the cabbage onto the other side and roast for another 15 minutes or so, or until edges are crispy and golden (keep an eye out for burning).
  2. To boil the beets: Wash the beets. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Once boiled add the beets to the pot, reduce to low-medium heat and cover with the lid. Cook the beets for approximately 40-45 minutes or until soft. Allow them to cool before slicing (at this point you can cut off the skin).
  3. To make the dressing: Combine all of the ingredients above using a whisk until you have your desired consistency (you may want to add extra olive oil depending on how runny you like your dressing)
  4. Throw all of your ingredients on your bed of greens and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

