Pumpkin Scones (V) (GF)

“Patience is the Calm Acceptance That Things Can Happen in a Different Order Than the One You Have in Mind.”

This quote stuck out to me immediately. In my head I could hear my mom’s voice saying something very similar to me the other day.. I like to think that I’m a patient person, but the more I think about it the more I realize that patience comes in many different forms, some of which I am better at than others. I’m not stubborn per se but more “set in my ways”, I like structure and routine. My mom helped me realize (whether I wanted to admit it or not.. Maybe I am stubborn haha) a very important point. In moments where my equilibrium is thrown off, where my routine is interrupted, I lose my patience. Not because I want to be an impatient person but because a sense of discomfort and anxiety creeps over me and I cannot bear the feeling. It is in these situations that I am going to work on my patience. My mom always says  “patience is a virtue” and I believe it to be very true. It is much easier to react than to maintain a sense of calmness and patience. Maybe it is a skill that I will better develop as a mother or simply through self-reflection and mindfulness.. I will get there. I don’t know how my mom does it but I admire all of her strengths. 🙂

As part of my mom’s special birthday brunch I made her these fabulous pumpkin scones. Throw them with some jam and tea or simply on their own! They are delicious and very filling!!

IMG_3678

Ingredients

  • 2 c chickpea flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 c pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 c coconut milk (almond milk could work as well)
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar

IMG_3673

  1. Preheat oven at 450F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and spices in a large bowl
  3. In a separate bowl combine the pumpkin, coconut milk, and agave nectar
  4. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients
  5. Using a 1/3 measuring cup, scoop the batter onto the baking sheet, spacing a few inches apart
  6. Bake for approximately 12 minutes

Enjoy!

One thought on “Pumpkin Scones (V) (GF)

Leave a Reply

