Lentil Veggie Loaf (V) (GF)

The New Year calls for new dinner ideas!

I feel like meatloaf always gets a bad rap. It has somehow become that stereotypical food that kids dread when they find out they are attending an overnight summer camp or it is seen as the worst possible dinner a parent could make. Truthfully, I was never really a fan of meatloaf growing up. Maybe it was because of the stereotypes I had associated with it or how I viewed it as a “punishment” dinner.. However, now that I have experimented with a vegan version of meatloaf I LOVE it! I feel like there is more flavour and variety. If you have a negative view towards “meatloaf” (whether its real meat or not) please try this vegan recipe before completely eliminating it forever!

Image

Ingredients 

  • 1 can of lentils, drained and rinsed
  • 1 c walnuts
  • 2 tbsp flax meal
  • 6 tbsp hot water
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 2 c spinach leaves, stems removed
  • 1/2 c sun dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 2/3 c mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/4 c gluten-free oats
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder

Image

  1. Preheat oven at 375F
  2. Combine flax meal and hot water and set aside
  3. In a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Once heated add the onion and garlic. Once softened, stir in carrots, mushrooms, spinach and spices. Cook until the veggies are soft
  4. In a food processor, blend half of the lentils with the flax seed mixture, sun dried tomatoes and walnuts. Once mixed, transfer into a large mixing bowl
  5.  Using the food processor again, quickly pulse the cooked veggies (you do not want to puree them completely)
  6. Transfer the veggies to the mixing bowl along with the remaining lentils and oats. Mix well
  7. Spread the mixture into a greased loaf pan. Bake for approximately 40 minutes

*Tip: vegan gravy is a nice addition to this loaf!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Lentil Veggie Loaf (V) (GF)

  1. This lentil loaf is amazing! Since going primarily vegan last summer, meatloaf with mashed potatoes is meal I miss occasionally, but this is actually better than any “real” meatloaf I’ve ever had! I did make the traditional topping with ketchup, mustard and brown sugar and served with a side of mashed cauliflower – delicious! I’m making it again tonight. Thanks so much for the recipe!

    • Congratulations on taking the leap to veganism! 🙂 It is quite the journey and never ending learning experience. Personally, it did take me some time to find alternatives and to realize that I’m not missing out!! There are so many wonderful options out there that are just as tasty, or as you said, even better! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed this recipe, and that it was a suitable replacement for you 🙂 You are very welcome. If I can make a difference in any small way I have done my job. Enjoy your “meatloaf”!

Leave a Reply

