Soft Gingerbread Whoopie Pies (V)

Today is the last day of 2013. Where has the year gone! I feel like I am constantly thinking to myself “How does the time go by so quickly?” Is it because our Western society is so go-go-go all the time? Is it because I am over ambitious and try to do everything? Is it because we so often forget to stop, take a deep breath, and actually be mindful of the present moment? Whatever the reason may be it needs to stop. That is my goal for the upcoming new year. I do not want to become a workaholic in my twenties! I want to enjoy life and do what I want. I am going to stop using the excuse “I don’t have time”. Because that’s not true, I do have time, it’s how I decide to use it and how I prioritize. I am going to continue to listen to my body and do body checks. It’s important that we are aware of how our mind, body, and soul is feeling. Our body is a temple that we cannot ignore or brush under the rug. We must nurture and feed every aspect of it. Maybe you’re like me and had similar dilemmas this year. I challenge you to set goals and do something about your dilemma. Recognition and realization are the first steps and are often the hardest for some people. But good and worthwhile things are never easy or cheap! May this New Year bring you love, kindness, joy, good health, and peace! πŸ™‚

Image

IngredientsΒ 

  • 2 1/4 c kamut flour (I needed to use this up or else I would have used a gluten-free flour)
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • Β 1 1/2 flax egg ( 1 1/2 tbsp flax meal, 4 1/2 tbsp water)
  • 3/4 c coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 c organic cane sugar
  • 3 tbsp almond milk
  • 1/4 c molasses

Image

  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Prepare your flax egg and set aside
  3. Combine flour, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and flax egg in a large bowl
  4. Using an electric mixer, cream together the coconut oil and sugar. Mix in the almond milk and molasses
  5. Slowly add the dry ingredients until they are well mixed
  6. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Form small balls with the dough, flatten gently with a fork
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden

*The cookies are meant to be soft!

Tip:Β To make these into whoopie pies I used a vegan ricemellow cream for the filling. You could also make a vegan buttercream or coconut milk cream if you like!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Soft Gingerbread Whoopie Pies (V)

Leave a Reply

