Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies (V)

It’s Christmas cookie time! Ever since I was a little girl this has been one of my favourite cookie recipes that my mom would make. I thought it was the coolest thing putting our thumbprints in cookies and than filling them with a bit of her homemade jam. I have revamped her classic recipe to a vegan and “healthier” version. This recipe has very little ingredients and is simple to make! I gave a few to my hesitant non-vegan friend and she loved them! People always assume that vegan food isn’t tasty or lacks substance, but man do I ever like proving them wrong. People need to be open-minded, willing to learn, and willing to experiment. You might be thoroughly surprised!

Unlike most of my recipes this one is not gluten-free, however it could easily be made gluten-free. I also used vegetable oil which I don’t typically use. I didn’t worry too much with these cookies as I will be giving/serving the majority of them to people who aren’t as concerned about specific ingredients.

Image

Ingredients 

  • 1 c walnuts
  • 1 3/4 c kamut flour (you can use a gluten-free flour too)
  • 1/4 unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c vegetable oil (melted coconut oil could work too)
  • 1/2 c agave nectar
  • fruit jam

Image

  1. Preheat oven at 350F
  2. In a food processor, finely grind walnuts
  3. Add the flour and cocoa powder into the food processor
  4. Transfer the mixture into a medium bowl
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together the vegetable oil and agave nectar. Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until combined
  6. On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper form the dough into small balls. Make a thumbprint in each cookie
  7. Fill the thumbprint with a bit of fruit jam
  8. Bake for 15-20 minutes

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

