Mac’n Cheese with Veggies (V) (GF)

When I tell people that I am vegan I can almost always predict what their response is going to be… I think 95% of the time I get “You mean you don’t eat cheese?! Omg, I would dieeee without cheese!” In my head I am thinking “That’s because cheese has addictive properties!” Believe it or not cheese gives us good/happy/positive feelings due to the opiate effects of the casomorphins. Doesn’t that sound lovely? Having your life so easily controlled by a hard orange brick..

The other day in my Mental Health class I was day dreaming as usual… I was looking around the class at all of the eager learners when I spotted it! The university student’s go-to dish, that classic golden pasta (if you can even call it pasta), comfort in a bowl.. Kraft Dinner! A guy in my class was munching away as the professor was teaching the lecture. Automatically I thought to myself “Man, I miss KD! Although it is a crappy option that lacks many essential nutrients and food groups, it sure did taste good.” I instantly decided that I was going to make a veganized version of kraft dinner that weekend. A much HEALTHIER version. So, if you’re like me and ever get that urge for cheesy pasta, give this recipe a try! It uses nutritional yeast as a cheese replacement which is a great source of protein and B-vitamins for vegan diets.

Image

Ingredients

  • 1 lb (454g) of rice pasta
  • 1/3 c canola oil
  • 1/3 c of corn starch or a gluten-free flour
  • 2 c almond milk
  • 2 tsp dry mustard powder
  • 1 c nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1 pint plum tomatoes, halved
  • 1 c frozen peas, thawed

Image

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add pasta and cook until soft. Drain
  2. In a small pot, heat oil on medium. Add cornstarch/flour and stir quickly
  3. Continue stirring as you add the milk and mustard powder
  4. Let the mixture cook until it starts to thicken
  5. Add the nutritional yeast flakes and remove from the heat
  6. Pour the cheese sauce over the cooked pasta. Stir in the tomatoes and peas

Enjoy! (with ketchup of course)

3 thoughts on “Mac’n Cheese with Veggies (V) (GF)

  1. Pingback: Vegan Mac and Cheese Sauce with Gluten Free Quinoa Pasta | The Veggie Slaughterhouse

  2. Pingback: Vegan Chili Mac’n’Cheese | The Broccoli Bulletin

  3. Pingback: Truffle Mac and Cheese | hint of sugar

Leave a Reply

